Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame Announces Board of Directors for upcoming year
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

This past week, the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame held its Annual General Meeting.  At that meeting, the Board of Directors was voted on for the upcoming year.

The Hall of Fame Board is constructed of representatives from Canadian racing industry organizations as well as individuals voted in at-large. 

Before the election of the incoming Board of Directors, the outgoing members  voted to revise the Hall of Fame’s bylaws to increase the number of positions available in the capacity of Director at Large/other Directors to two, resulting in the total number of Board Members being 13. The addition of a second Director at Large provides a greater opportunity for members of the Canadian racing industry to participate in the oversight and operation of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame.   

The following is the incoming Board of Directors of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame: 

Peter Berringer & Dermot Carty – Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society

Veronica Attard & Sue Leslie - Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protection Association

Irwin Driedger – Jockey’s Benefit Association of Canada

Jessica Buckley & Bill McLinchey – Racetracks of Canada

Ian Fleming & Darryl Kaplan – Standardbred Canada

William Andrew & Bill O’Donnell – Representing Canadian Standardbred Horsemen’s Organizations

Jim Bannon & John Stapleton – two additional directors as allocated in the bylaws  

Among the Directors are five Honoured Members of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame.

The executive of the CHRHF elected for the coming year include Darryl Kaplan, re-elected as President, Jessica Buckley, elected as Vice-President, Stacey Newman as Treasurer and Lesley Barker as Secretary. 

A complete list of all Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame committees and members can be found here  

Additional information about the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame is available at or by contacting or 416-417-9404

Linda Rainey

Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame